DEPARTMENT OF STATE

BUREAU OF AUTOMOTIVE REGULATION

SALVAGE VEHICLE RECORDS

(By authority conferred on the secretary of state by sections 204 and 251 of Act No. 300 of the Public Acts of 1949, as amended, being SS257.204 and 257.251 of the Michigan Compiled Laws)

R 257.251 Definitions.

- Rule 1. (1) As used in these rules, "code" means Act No. 300 of the Public Acts of 1949, as amended, being \$257.1 et seq. of the Michigan Compiled Laws.
 - (2) A term defined in the code has the same meaning when used in these rules.

History: 1980 AACS.

R 257.252 Vehicle salvage pool operator; vehicle scrap metal processor; distressed vehicle transporter; seller of major component parts; record maintenance periods.

- Rule 2. (1) A person who is licensed as a vehicle salvage pool operator shall maintain, for a period of not less than 4 years after the disposal of a distressed vehicle, those forms, documents, and records which relate to the storage of the vehicle.
- (2) A person who is licensed as a vehicle scrap metal processor shall maintain, for a period of not less than 4 years after the disposal of a distressed vehicle, those forms, documents, and records which relate to the buying and acquiring of the vehicle for the purpose of processing and selling the metal.
- (3) A person who is licensed as a distressed vehicle transporter shall maintain, for a period of not less than 4 years after the disposal of a distressed vehicle, those forms, documents, and records which relate to the buying, acquiring, and selling of the distressed vehicle.
- (4) A person who is licensed to sell major component parts of used vehicles shall maintain, for a period of not less than 4 years from the time of sale, those forms, documents, and records which relate to the sale of used vehicle parts.

History: 1980 AACS.

R 257.253 Salvage vehicle disclosure certification.

- Rule 3. (1) Before entering into an agreement of sale, a dealer who sells a late model salvage vehicle which has been repaired shall certify to the buyer in writing that the vehicle was previously distressed.
- (2) The certification may be written or printed directly on a document which evidences the agreement or on a separate document attached to the agreement.

(3) The certification shall read substantially as follows:

Salvage Vehicle Disclosure Certification

The purchaser of this vehicle has been informed by the seller, before entering into an agreement of sale, that the vehicle described below was previously wrecked, destroyed, or damaged to the extent that a previous owner considered the vehicle uneconomical to repair.

(Date)	(5	(Signature of Purchaser)				
(Date)	(Sign	ature of S	eller)			
(Make)	(Model)	(Year)	(V.I.N.)	(Seller's Dealer Number)		
***	.980 AACS.					

R 257.254 Distressed vehicle sale records; content; maintenance period.

Rule 4. A dealer shall maintain, in a bound volume, a separate record of each late model distressed vehicle bought, sold, exchanged, accepted, or otherwise acquired by the dealer for the purpose of sale, exchange, wrecking, or storage. The record shall contain, in addition to the information required by the code, the make, model year, and body style of each vehicle for which records are kept. These records shall be maintained by the dealer for a period of not less than 4 years.

History: 1980 AACS.

R 257.255 Distressed vehicle transporter license; application information.

Rule 5. (1) An applicant for a distressed vehicle transporter's license shall submit to the secretary of state, in addition to other information required by the code, a description of the established place of business to be licensed and the following information:

- (a) A sketch or photograph that accurately depicts the physical dimensions of the established place of business.
- (b) Certification from the appropriate political subdivision that the proposed established place of business is in compliance with local zoning requirements.
- (2) A license as a distressed vehicle transporter is not needed to engage in the business of towing disabled vehicles.

History: 1980 AACS.

R 257.256 Vehicle salvage pool operator license; application information.

Rule 6. An applicant for a vehicle salvage pool operator license shall submit to the secretary of state, in addition to the other information required by the code, a description of the established place of business to be licensed and all of the following information:

- (a) A sketch or photograph that accurately depicts the physical dimensions of the established place of business.
- (b) Certification from the appropriate political subdivision that the proposed established place of business is in compliance with local zoning requirements.
 - (c) The approximate number of vehicles the facility is able to store.

History: 1980 AACS.

R 257.257 Vehicle scrap metal processor license; application information.

Rule 7. An applicant for a vehicle scrap metal processor license who purchases a vehicle from an unlicensed person shall submit to the secretary of state, in addition to other information required by the code, a description of the established place of business and all of the following information:

- (a) A sketch or photograph that accurately depicts the physical dimensions of the established place of business.
- (b) Certification from the appropriate political subdivision that the proposed established place of business is in compliance with local zoning requirements.
- (c) A statement of the method of scrap processing to be used at the established place of business.

History: 1980 AACS.